Present Situation

Hello all,

I’ve been browsing the board for a few months and decided to finally stop lurking and discuss my dilemma.

Throughout high school I thought I was going to be a doctor. I took the relevant coursework during high school to prepare me for pre-med, but unfortunately didn’t get the luck of the draw when it came to teachers and it soured me on science. Thus, I decided to follow the family profession and I am currently a 23 year old second-year law student (so not that much of an old pre-med). I received my B.A. in political science and history and, stupidly, took neither relevant science nor math courses (my school didn’t force us liberal arts majors to take serious science courses).

Over the past few months I’ve realized that I should have followed my instinct during high school and gone into medicine. I have realized that I want to actually help people and I don’t believe that law is the way to do this. I’ve applied to a post-bacc program to get the pre-reqs under my belt and hope to apply to medical school after that.

Graduated from undergrad with a 3.2 (not so great), but I’ve been fortunate enough to tend to test very well, so I’m hoping that, between an improved GPA from the post-bacc and a strong MCAT score, I’ll be a potentially acceptable candidate. I unfortunately haven’t had any volunteer work in the medical field or in the sciences, but I’m hoping to be able to do some of that work during post-bacc. I have had a good amount of volunteer experience outside of the medical fields, have worked for a former President of the United States, local governments, and a Fortune 500 corporation, and go to a T-1 law school. Is there any way to spin this into a coherent medical application? Should I be doing anything now, volunteer-wise, to help my application?

Thank you all very much in advance