PS LOR

Hi, everyone. I’m new to this board. I’m 42 and seriously considering medical school, if I can get home issues (read: finances) worked out with my darling wife. In considering what I need to do to make this a reality, I find myself wondering at some things. Two specific issues come to mind:
- Who do I get to write letters of recommendation? I am fifteen years out of my first undergrad school, and except for one physics professor, any faculty who might possibly remember me have long since retired. I went to grad school and did very well in the classes, but I never got my thesis finished or signed off and thus never got my MS. My old advisor could certainly write something, but I don’t know how complimentary to my academic talents it would be. I currently work as a programmer and technical writer at a software company that everyone knows and many curse; I doubt a LOR from my current lead would mean a lot to a medical committee. Ideas?
- Surfing the web, I have seen many examples of personal statements for med school. I’m sorry to be harsh, but almost without exception, these statements read like they were written in a freshman creative-writing class. ("‘Someone call 911!’, I bellowed. I had seen the young white man get hit by the speeding automobile, watched his flailing body fly through the air and land in a crumpled heap on the pavement. Etc etc etc" – you must be kidding.) But if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Is this really the type of thing admission committees like?
Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

I can’t say I know what ad coms like in terms of the ps. My advisor read mine and liked it and the Dean read it and hated it. Then I rewrote it and the Dean loved it and my advisor hated it.
Re: LORs, I got two from science professors at Georgetown where I did my post bacc classes, one from my undergrad advisor and two from doctors I have shadowed. I am using Interfolio.