Pursuing Non-degree post bacc with a foreign undergrad degree

Hi…

I am currently pursuing a Post bacc program (non-degree) taking the pre-reqs for med school. I have an engineering degree in Computer science from a foreign university (India). So far…so good I have managed to maintain A and A+ in my fall and summer classes and my science GPA so far is 4.0, hopefully I maintain it the same way. I am also volunteering at a local hospital and hopefully shadow few surgeons in this coming fall/winter. My only question is, is a non-degree with all necessary re-reqs be good enough for med schools.

Thanks,

Jerry

Unfortunately, American medical schools vary dramatically on how much American coursework they require of foreign degree holders. Some medical schools would be perfectly fine with what you have taken so far. Others would require more American coursework. Unless you want to cover all your bases by taking at least 90 semester hours of American undergraduate coursework, you’re going to have to call the medical schools you are interested in and find out their policies.

Agreed. Many foreign degree holders end up doing a US undergrad degree in order to make themselves competitive candidates, since there is such a wide variation among schools acceptances of foreign degrees. You need to call/look at the websites of the various schools you are interested in and find out what they are going to require from you. Also, if you are not a citizen or permanent resident of the US, you may also find it difficult to get into medical school in the US. You will want to check policies on citizenship/immigration status at these schools as well.

JD,

I don’t have concrete answers for you but wanted to point out the following older threads that you may find useful. Good luck.

http://www.oldpremeds.org/fusionbb/showtopic.php?t…

Hello all,