Question about timing, MCATs, beginning med school

Hi All,

I’m a non-traditional premed student in that I graduated from undergrad in 2006 (studied biology and bioethics), earned an MPH and am now completing a Ph.D. in history. I’ve been completing my final premed requirements (organic chemistry and physics) and will be totally done with physics this coming summer.

I’m trying to figure out how best to think through timing for the MCAT, applications, etc. Since I’m not part of a post-bac program, I’m doing most of it on my own. It seems to me like the remaining key parts of my application include the following:

• Finish physics (which will happen by summer 2012)

• Potentially take biochemistry (not sure when)

• Take the MCAT (not sure when)

• Gain more shadowing/volunteer experience

• Apply to schools

I’m doing all of this while also finishing my Ph.D. and working, so it’s a bit to juggle (I imagine others are in similar shows in terms of juggling families, careers, etc.)

Does anyone have any advice in terms of helping me think through my options in terms of dates to take the MCAT, dates for taking biochem (if it’s a good idea in the first place) and dates to apply to med schools? I’m not totally clear regarding how decisions I make in terms of taking the MCAT and finishing biochem will influence when I would able to begin medical school. Ideally, I would be finished with my Ph.D. in the summer of 2013. Is it possible for me to begin med school that fall, or is it more realistic for me to consider beginning in 2014?

As an aside, my previous undergrad coursework (all completed between 2002-2006) includes calculus, inorganic chemistry, microbiology, genetics, immunology, vaccine development, biotechnology, and neuroscience, but no biochem yet!

Thanks for any help/advice!