Question about what to major in...

I am a 31y/o RN with 2 young children, with an ASN in nursing. After LOTS of deep thought I am confident that I don’t want to continue on in nursing. I love my job as an L&D nurse, but obtaining a masters degree in nursing will not expand my scope of practice in the way that I desire, which has brought me to my 2 year thought about decision to bite the bullet and apply to med school. Which brings me to my question.I am confused as to what I should major in for my Bachelors degree. I majored in Biology prior to changing my major and graduating with my associates degree in Nursing. I can either continue with the Bio major and then apply, or I can continue with my RN-BSN program, and apply as a BSN. Both will take me about the same amount of time due to the fact that I will have to take extra science courses after my BSN that are med school pre-reqs. I am really not too enthused about finishing my BSN. The thought of 2 yrs of nursing clinicals again just isn’t exciting to me, especially since I already spend 36hrs + call each week working in a clinical area, and I am not interested in pursuing a graduate level degree in nursing. I currently volunteer at a pregnancy crisis center, and my overall GPA is 3.81, but I am concerned that med school admissions may view my finishing out my BS in a different field of study as showing a lack of commitment??? Does anyone have any words of wisdom, b/c I am hemming and hawing and keep changing my classes that I am scheduled to take this fall. Thanks in advance

The choice of major is not a concern for medical schools. It is more important to have good grades. You can major in Underwater Basket Weaving with a minor in Scrapbooking and if you have very good grades in the pre-requisites and in your other classes then you are fine.