Questions Questions Questions!!

I am glad i found this site. I am 31 years old and am interested in going to medical school. I am in the very beginning stage of doing the research of what it will take to get me there.

In 06 I graduated from college with a criminal justice degree, i took chem1, bio, human anatomy, none of which were required, i was just interested in them.

Do you enroll in college as a non degree seeking student to take the prereqs, do you enroll in a premed post bacc program? How do you fund the classes? Are federal loans available?

Thanks for taking the time to help me.

Welcome to OPM!!

There are a few options open to you. There is definitely the formal Post Bacc route, but you will find that these tend to be a bit pricy. The route most at OPM tend to take is a “do it yourself” Post Bacc where you enroll in a 4 yr college / university and take the pre reqs. Some do this as a non-dgree student, but you may find that you are last in line in terms of registering for courses making it difficult to get into the ones you want. The other way is to sign up for another degree and then you will have preferred access to your courses. From what I understand, you do not actually have to finish the 2nd degree.

Anyway, hope that helps to start.

We’re a friendly bunch so just post any other questions or do a search to get info from past posts about various topics.

Lynda

Hi and welcome to the group! As Linda mentioned, we are (hopefully) a supportive group of individuals ready and willing to answer any questions you may have, even the ones you think are too elementary to ask!