Quick serious question...

Hello everyone,

My name is Joe and I have been browsing this forum for the past 2 weeks and read up on many of your discussions, and have learned quite a bit. like everyone here, I am also a returning student at the age of 30, with hopes of becoming a doctor; but what troubles me is that I have a very bad undergrad gpa; 2.616. However, my current gpa, in my post-bacc program after completing both gen chemistry courses; gen physics, and gen biology is a 3.85. If med schools were to average my science gpa with both post and undergrad, I don’t think I will meet the 3.5 min. Yet, from reading these boards, I also understand that medical schools also look at positive trends. How is this possible if the school selects candidates with calculated gpa cutoffs? How will I be able to even get an opportunity to demonstrate to them my changed perception on life with my new found efforts?

Thanks, joe

Joe - Most schools don’t have an absolute minimum cutoff (and a 3.5 minimum seems pretty high- it’s probably more like a 3.0). In any case, most of them will tell you that they look at the entire application before rejecting anybody.

The best thing to do is before you apply, do your research on the schools you think you are interested. If it makes you feel better, call the schools and ask if they have automatic cutoffs. Another alternative is applying, and if you are automaticallly rejected (i.e. they reject you the same day they cash your check), call and ask the school if they will reconsider your application. I have heard of the latter strategy being successful for a couple of people who were automatically rejected based on cum GPA.

Continue to get good grades post-bacc and do well on the MCAT, and you might be surprised how many schools you at least get interviews at. My undergrad GPA was a 2.78, and even with a nearly 4.0 in my postbacc, my cum ugrad GPA only came up to a 3.19. I received acceptances at all five schools I applied to.