Quit Full-Time Job to Study for MCAT?

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to this forum, so please excuse me if a question like this has already been asked!

I currently work full time as a research assistant in health policy. The organization I work for fully knows of my plans to apply to medical school in 2010 and has been pretty supportive in allowing me to use some paid and unpaid leave time to study for the MCAT and to finish 2 remaining pre-reqs (physics, bio). However, this means I’m still actually occupied with work 35+ hours/wk. I feel on a personal level that I’m not studying enough for the MCAT, and I’m also seeing a lot of postings (e.g. on student doctor net) that recommend a full 3 months of studying–no part time or full time work, no coursework simultaneously. As such, I’m thinking about quitting my job to study full time…but I know my research job would look favorable to the MD/PhD (epidemiology) programs that I’m interested in.

Here’s where I’d like some feedback: as a ‘non-traditional’ applicant, will they look at my work history (2 years in health policy research, 2 years in health care management) more favorably and give me some slack if I don’t score 36+ on the MCAT? Or will a low MCAT score make schools not even consider me, work history or not? Will an additional year as a research assistant really make that much more of a difference in my application, or as something to talk about in my interview?

My grades are OK (3.7 overall, 3.6 science – I majored in Math, so there’s some of that in there), if that makes a difference!

Thanks for your thoughts!