Quit Investment Banking?

Hi Everyone,

Looking for some advice. I started undergrad premed, but got three C’s my sophomore year (orgo I & II, and a C+ in intro to cell bio). Feeling my chances were ruined, I changed my major and got a job in healthcare banking at a prestigious bank. I graduated with a 3.5 gpa and 3.1 sgpa. A year after working, I realized medicine was the path for me so I started volunteering at a hospital on the weekends shadowing, and taking courses at night at a community college. This raised my gpa to a about a 3.64 and sgpa 3.55. I’ve taken all the science courses the community college offers and am now at the point where I’m not sure what to do next. I’m considering quitting my job and going to a four year full time to raise the gpa even more and show I truly do have what it takes to succeed in a rigorous course load while perhaps working full time and doing more clinical work. However, I am also up for promotion soon, so part of me wants to be promoted so I have that to show while studying for the MCAT and doing really well on that. How will medical schools view this upward trend since my post bacc was at a community college? Should I quit my job?

Your GPA is not an issue, as long as the trends are ^, ^, ^. Some schools have an issue with: ^, v, ^, ^, v, ^, v, etc., even if you end with a decent GPA, because it shows that you may be running out of gas. 3.4 average GPA for DO, 3.7 for MD - and that’s just the 50% mark. SO many people have much lower, like, <3.2, but many recommend not having <3.4 for MD. sGPA is around the same mark, slightly lower (0.05-.1 lower). CC classes do not mean anything, just as long as it doesn’t look like you were taking them to avoid “more difficult” classes at a 4-year university - if you can explain that you needed them because of work/financial/etc., then you’re just fine. Some schools have issue with upper-div classes like ochem/biochem at a CC, but these are far and few in between.