Range of jobs available within primary care

I know there are .7 Primary care physicians for every 1 needed. It also seems that even at the best Medical schools in the country internal medicine is the most popular specialization.

I guess I am asking if anyone has a bit of information about the range of primary care careers available for someone who graduates top of their class from a stronger med school, vs someone who just makes it through med school (obviously both are very difficult tasks).

Thanks.

First of all, I am no expert in this. And honestly, I’m not even sure what you mean by a “stronger” medical school; there are so many different factors to take into account if you’re trying to rank med schools.

That said … there are a few different “paths” that I am aware of. Perhaps you are already aware of them, too, I don’t know. I’ll just share what I know, from my personal experiences and own research.

First of all, do you want to specialize beyond general IM? There are nearly two dozen “specialties” in which you can be board certified AFTER you do your residency in IM (you have to do a fellowship and then take another board exam). These specialties include hematology, critical care medicine, infectious disease, medical oncology, etc. Here is a Web site with more information on each of these specialties, from the American Board of Internal Medicine: www.abim.org/specialty/

Of course, if you graduate from a more prestigious university (ie, Ivy League) with higher USMLE scores, for example, you may be more likely to get into a more competitive residency for IM, which means you may be more likely to get into a more competitive fellowship for a specialty after you finish your residency. That means you may be likely to get a more lucrative job once you finish the fellowship. I say “MAY” because you don’t really know. Again, there are a lot of factors involved that make it really hard to predict.