Re-taking premedical courses because they aren't recent?

Hi everyone,

Like many of you, I am a non-traditional student and I am currently applying to do a DIY post-bacc. I graduated in 2014 and I took physics and chemistry during my freshman year (2010-2011). My grades for those were ok, ranging from A- to B-. I know some medical school specify that the coursework should be recent and I remember either hearing or reading that the premed requirements should be within 5 years (I can’t recall where though, so I might be making this up…).

Right now, I’m leaning towards redoing all of my premed requirements for the following reasons:

By the time I apply to med school, my physics and chemistry credits would have been 8 to 9 years ago
    Re-taking it, I am able to guarantee myself that I will get a better grade

Does this make sense? Am I right for wanting to re-do all of my premed requirements?

Thanks in advance!

Short answer: Yes, your explanation makes sense. But no, I don’t think you should redo all the courses. Long answer below:

I’m of the mindset that retaking a class that you didn’t bomb is a waste of money, with some caveats. There are, indeed, some schools that specify “no later than” times for your prerequisites. As of a couple of years ago, Duke had a 5 year requirement, and I know a few other schools that had “strongly recommended” timelines of roughly 10 years. Most of the schools I looked at applying to didn’t really have a firm limit. Strangely enough, I got into a “strongly recommended 10 years” school with older prereqs…

If you did fine in the courses and you don’t care that it may (minimally) limit where you can go, then I wouldn’t waste the money. Instead, put the money you would have spent into a commercial prep course that will teach you exactly what you need to know, in a more MCAT-centric way, more than any undergrad course will do. Your previous experience with the coursework will be a good foundation that the prep course will fine tune.