re-visiting my alma-mater

Today was my first step back to my alma mater: University of Central Florida. Man-oh-man - what changes have been made over 15 yrs. As I drove my Beast 30 or so miles in the rain, I became unbelievably anxious … I’m familar with the streets around the area (prime shopping), but the direction of the university made me shiver - even with my seat heater on … Wow - it’s exploded! There are parking garages where there once were woods and buildings where there once were just dirt parking lots. Does that make me old as dirt? I ran into “Visitor Information” and got a $4 day parking pass … and headed off into the unknown. I found the biology center - and after a few wrong turns, found the department to get my over-ride for Molec Cell Biology. The preteen looked at me like I had three heads when I said I was a biology major: “are you a first term student?” What do I say to that? I graduated from UCF about 15 yrs ago - got my BSME - but they weren’t even in preschool then - and I’m certainly not in their “system”. Anyway, as I trotted around (rain dripping from my chin), I couldn’t find the OASIS building (what does OASIS stand for?), I called a friend for some re-direction. She said “it’s the old brick building adjacent to the bookstore”. Hummmmmm the book store now resembles a Barnes & Noble and the OLD building is there — but has nothing to do with OASIS. Hummmm again. Ohhhhh - she means the brick building that’s about 5 yrs old - not the one I was looking toward - the one with crumbling motar that I consider OLD. Anyway, I found the office, enrolled, and headed for the bookstore to buy myself $150 worth of UCF-wear. I’m sporting my new sweatshirt already. I want to quit my job, sell my house and move in with a roommate so I can “go back to college” and do it the right way this time. Have some fun, have some focus and enjoy the opportunity to relive some of the days that should have been the best of my life… Crap, I felt old, I felt out of place,