Ready to be Serious

Hello oldpremeds! I was so happy to stumble across this site. It is a lonely world out there for those on the non-traditional path.

Here is the situation:

I just graduated from the University of Texas @ austin with a BA in Government and a minor in biology and business as well as satisfying the premed requirements. I had way too much fun for those 5 years, so much so that I graduated with 2.0.

Honestly I am more than capable, considering I almost never attended class I feel like I did pretty well.

I made bad decisions my first time away from home (I was a ‘A’ student in high school) and now I’m 23 and ready to be serious. I want to go to medical school. I refuse to believe that I should call it quits… or should I?

Please help me guys, what do I need to do to realize my dream of being a doctor will medical schools consider an applicant like me?

I have started studying for the MCAT. And I plan on retaking my premed classes.

Thanks!

Welcome Trey

To answer your question as far as what you need to do to realize your dream of becoming a doctor? Well, by starting here, it seems as though you already have.

23 is young, you are lucky you’re getting a start now. I’ll never be the one to say that ANYONE should call it quits especially even before you’re tried. I’m sort of in the same boat though, I too had a lot of fun in college and graduated with a GPA similar to yours. I’m retaking my pre-reqs now and essentially staring over.

Why are you studying for the MCAT?? I think it is premature to be doing that, really. You havent even started taking your courses yet, I dont think you should put more on your plate than you need to.

It’s the anxiety and excitement of it all that gets you to jump in full speed ahead, I know. I put my MCAT book down knowing I wasnt going to be taking it for a while. Sometimes I’ll do a couple of questions from various sections just to keep my mind from rotting. I dont get too tangled up in it though. At least not now.