Really Low GPA and doesn't want to give up

I am a 23 year old African American female. I graduated with a B.A degree in biology. My grades greatly slipped due to personal reasons as I continued school and I ended up with a 2.42 cumulative GPA. My science GPA is not good and I’m looking for advice on where to go from here. I currently reside in NY. I don’t know what I should do. Should I take an upper level science course or 2 as a non degree student to see if I can handle it and then try getting into a program to enhance my GPA? I do not want to give up and I have been struggling with this since I finished school in May of 2012. I know that post bac programs and most programs require you to have at least a 3.0 so I just don’t know what to do. I want to know if it’s possible. I would greatly appreciate your advice because I do not want any more time to go by.

Some great recent advice I got from the Dean of UCF College of Medicine:

Show that you are dedicated, get a masters degree and prove that you can do it and that you are willing to sacrifice.

• Biscuit23 Said:
I am a 23 year old African American female. I graduated with a B.A degree in biology. My grades greatly slipped due to personal reasons as I continued school and I ended up with a 2.42 cumulative GPA. My science GPA is not good and I'm looking for advice on where to go from here. I currently reside in NY. I don't know what I should do. Should I take an upper level science course or 2 as a non degree student to see if I can handle it and then try getting into a program to enhance my GPA? I do not want to give up and I have been struggling with this since I finished school in May of 2012. I know that post bac programs and most programs require you to have at least a 3.0 so I just don't know what to do. I want to know if it's possible. I would greatly appreciate your advice because I do not want any more time to go by.

Rule 1: Take a Breath

Lets look at few things.