Reapplying to med school after 10 years?

I’m trying to decide whether to reapply to medical school. I applied in '97 at the “traditional age” and was rejected. I am now 30 and am thinking about trying again. I had a 3.1 GPA and average MCAT scores(don’t remember exactly what) and loads of volunteer work. I decided to go the alternative route and got my master’s in acupuncture and oriental medicine (with a 3.9 gpa). I have been an acupuncturist for the past 2 years, treating patients and running my own clinic. Now I’m again feeling the urge to go to medical school and integrate the two fields. There are several doctors in my area that also use acupuncture, so I don’t feel like this is a new idea…except that I learned acupuncture first. I’m just a little hesitant about going through the whole process again. I would have to retake the MCAT, which would probably be to my advantage and I’d be applying to the WWAMI program since I live in Washington. (I was a NC resident the first time I applied and only applied to those state schools). Part of me is concerned that they wouldn’t take me seriously considering my background even though I have been working with patients and Washington state IS fairly progressive in respect to alternative medicine. Any feedback?

From your statement, I would say that you need to improve your grades, especially in the BCPM (biology, chemistry, physics, math) area, unless, of course, accredited courses were offered as part of your acupuncuture training. Your high post-bacc GPA may help provided that it shows coursework that is acceptable to medical school AdComms (admission committees).
Improving your sciences would also help you retake the MCAT, which you will have to do if you want to maximize your chances for acceptance. Most medical schools want recent MCATs (although a few don’t care when you took it), usually within 2-3 years of application date.