Recent College Grad...road to Medical School

Hello everyone! I am a new college grad (May 18, 2008) and my goal is to go to medical school to become a psychiatrist. During my undergraduate years I did not do well in my science courses, due to being diagnosed with a serious disorder the summer of my junior year. From that point on I have been on a strong medication to try to give me pain relief for a few years. Due to this I will graduate with a cumulative GPA of 2.8. I have already taken the MCAT twice and did not do well. I do not feel that this is because I am not capable but more of my health and inability to focus. I have applied to a few post-bac programs in my home state but I have not had much luck due to my low GPA. Should I continue or just give up? I have read about do it yourself post-bac programs…is that basically receiving another BA/BS degree or is that enrolling in a continuing Ed program?

Thank you for your help

with the story you present it is really tough to be encouraging. Has your health improved? Can you focus now more than you could before? I think you will need decent MCAT and a better GPA to have a shot. I will never say never, but there needs to be some improvement somewhere.

Remember too, if you do get in, you will be embarking on a course of training that requires a lot of concentration and is also physically demanding. To attempt it with a learning dissability (poor concentration) and poor health is to start with two strikes against you.

can it be done? probably - would it be tough? yes! It’s a struggle without that.

if you feel like conditions have improved for you and you want it bad enough - then come up with a plan to retake some of the science you did poor in and start to boost the gpa… sounds like a long road…but worth it if it really is your passion.

OK lets focus here…

2.8 with poor science grades? Whats the Sci GPA?

Poor MCAT how Poor?

2.8 and 22 or better there is a shot to get into one of the Caribbean 4 schools