Reintroducing myself...

Hello everyone. I’ve been reading the forums on and off for probably 7 years or so. I posted eons ago, but things have changed a bit since then so I’d like to get some new feedback. It’s a bit of long story so brace yourselves…

My mother in law is a radiologist and she was an “old” premed over 20 years ago. She got a BS in nursing in the 1960s, worked for several years, and then stayed home with her three kids for a while. When my husband was 7 (BIL was 5, SIL was 3), she started med school. DH was graduating high school when she joined her practice full time. She’s still working, as the president of her 8 doctor group. I’ve gotten to see glimpses of her work life over the last 6 years and it’s intrigued me.

I was always interested in biology, genetics especially, from middle school on. I had my first son at 16, which threatened to derail my college plans. But I graduated HS on time and commuted to college - I earned a BS in biology in 3 years, cum laude. I thought about medical school during undergrad, but my concerns about being a single parent with massive student loans deterred me from getting really serious. One of my professors suggested I look into PhD programs instead. At 20, the fact that they were essentially “free” and you got a stipend was enough to make me decide to take the GRE and apply. I started my PhD program in 1999, 2 months after I turned 21 with my almost 5 year old in tow.