required coursework

This is my first time in OldPreMeds, I’m really liking this group!! Yesterday I was talking to my Calculus I professor about premed classes, he mentioned that taking Calculus II is a good idea since is required by many medical schools. I was wondering if is really necessary, I’ve seen the admission requirements at some schools and I don’t see Calculus II as something that you will need. What do you think?

I think “many” is a bit of a stretch. There are some schools that list calculus as a pre-req, but probably even fewer that require through calculus II. It’s probably far more likely for a school to require biochemistry than calculus.

That being said, it’s always a good idea to check the websites of schools that you think you might be seriously interested in and seeing what they list as pre-reqs.

• milenamc85 Said:
This is my first time in OldPreMeds, I'm really liking this group!! Yesterday I was talking to my Calculus I professor about premed classes, he mentioned that taking Calculus II is a good idea since is required by many medical schools. I was wondering if is really necessary, I've seen the admission requirements at some schools and I don't see Calculus II as something that you will need. What do you think?

• Emergency Said:
I think "many" is a bit of a stretch. There are some schools that list calculus as a pre-req, but probably even fewer that require through calculus II. It's probably far more likely for a school to require biochemistry than calculus.

That being said, it's always a good idea to check the websites of schools that you think you might be seriously interested in and seeing what they list as pre-reqs.