Research Dilemma

Hello All!

I am a newly accepted student to medical school. I have a current dilemma with my research experience. In March of this year, when I was finishing my prereqs, I took a biochemistry class and thought it would interesting to try out research since I have not previously done any research. The professor that taught the class does research and I joined his laboratory. I have been able to work with him since June but I found out that he does mostly teaching now and is really only 10-20% research. I am currently doing the research on a volunteer basis as he does not have any funding currently to pay me.

I am just wondering if I should look for other research opportunities where I could be getting paid? I had read on other threads that there are plenty of places to go and get research and get paid for it. The other reason why it is a dilemma is that I am non-traditional as I have worked as a registered nurse these last two years. The pay I would get would be much less than what I get paid as a nurse.

What do you guys think or what suggestions do you have or what questions do you have?

Congratulations on the acceptance to medical school! Here’s my advice…take this year to do something unique and special for you. You have the admittance to medical school and do not need research experience for anything. If you just REALLY LOVE research and want more experience ok that makes sense and as such I would recommend a place where you are getting paid for your time if you can get hired somewhere. You have a good paying job already though as an RN which opens so many doors. Work as a travel nurse? Make some bank and save up for some hefty costs that will arise in medical school.