residency training

Hello everyone. I’m a little concerned about the age i will be if i were to complete residency. I’m 32 yrs. old and i am currently a sophmore in undergrad. I know i have a long ways to go but time moves quick and i want to be prepared for my future. If i am correct, most residency programs are from 4-7 yrs. which would make me around 44 - 47 yrs. old before i can begin to practice. My questions are: While in residency, do you feel like a doctor in training or a student? On average, how much of a salary do you make in these programs? Would i be less competitive when searching for employment because of my age or more competitive? And, If there is anyone out there who has started practicing at around this age, how has this experience been for you?

Thank You

John -

Check out some of Mary’s posts. She just finished residency after going back to school at 41. We have a couple other posters who are posting their residency experiences, although I am not sure how old they are.

I can’t speak as to whether you feel like a doctor in training or a student in residency, but salaries for new residents right now are in the mid to upper $40K range. If you go to various residency program websites, most of them will have a section on benefits that will list what their current salary is. The salary does usually increase one to two thousand per year of residency.

I don’t think your age is going to make any difference when it comes to finding a job. Although you may be older than a lot of your fellow classmates, the average age of entering medical students is rising and there seem to be more older, non-trad students every year.