retaking courses--is it really bad to retake ?

hello!
I am in a desperate situation.I am just taking premed requirement classes at the moment. I have a BA already
I got Cs in my organic classes…I want to retake the orgo. I really think I can do better than that. However, my premed advisor tells me, it is bad to retake any courses…medical schools consider retaking couses as a weak point…
Can anyone tell me their experiences and some advice? I am curently retaking Calculus 2…which I got D when I was a freshman about 7 years ago.
(sorry about my bad english).

I don’t really think retaking courses should hurt you . . . as long as you improve! AMCAS will list both and figure both into your gpa, and AACOMAS will list both, but only figure the higher into your gpa, so it can be helpful when applying to osteopathic schools.
It may also help you prepare for the MCAT. Talk to your advisor some more. And maybe talk to some of the schools you plan to apply to. Call the admissions office and ask to speak to the director of admissions.
Most of all, do what makes you feel best prepared for the MCAT and med school. Keep working hard to attain your goal, and never let anyone tell you it is impossible! Remember, “impossible things are happening every day.”

I want to second what Linda has said…
If your old grades are, well old… then you have two choices… you can retake the course to freshen up your learning… this also might help you prepare for any other courses you may take… ie orgo might help you if you choose to take biochem as well (although biochem is rarely a pre-requisite for med school)…