Retaking old classes old vs new.

Hi everyone!

I am pondering taking some of my bio classes. i graduated from Wayne State with a B.S. in Bio at a GPA of 2.87 I also got my MS in cell bio from Eastern Mich with a GPA of 3.27.

I am pondering what type of approach I should take in taking classes to raise my GPA to 3.0

Are retakes frowned upon? I taken these classes in 10 yrs ago. Secondly, there are many classes I got Cs in or retook back then as well. For instance I failed Calc I and retook it to get a grade of B. But it has been awhile(around year 2002).

I am well aware however that all is there for AMCAS to see. Is it more of a qualitative thing to demonstrate that you still have it? Also isnt it prudent to retake due to there maybe being a lapse in memory for these courses?(More so chemistry than bio since I have a grad degree).

Thanks for any help. I have been wondering this for awhile.

Edit: my plan is to take some classes get to 3.0 and enroll in Waynes SMP. I work for the university so I get free tuition.

I have asked this question to others as well and a consensus of those state that it generally matters in the case of pursuing an MD versus a DO degree. Also, some schools take into account a good MCAT score, interviews and letters of recommendation. Incidentally, I have a Biology degree as well and have a question for you. You graduated from Wayne State and I was thinking of re-taking some bio and chem courses there. How would you rate your instructors in those courses during your time there? I want to go in and hit the ground running so I’m curious to know what your experience was like while there.

The chemistry courses are OUTSTANDING in my opinion. Challenging but great instructors that know there stuff and very organized.