Retaking the Core Classes: Where to GO Back to School

Hello Everyone:

I’ve just discovered this wonderful group, and I’m just delighted to find a group of people who share my dream of going to medical school past 30. Finally, I feel like I’ve found some support.

This being my very first post, I’ll try to keep it short. I graduated college in '94, and only recently made the decision to re-apply to medical school. I’ve already taken the core pre-med curriculum, but I’m now re-taking the courses, as it’s been too long to get ready for the MCAT and applications from work done 13-16 years ago. My question is this - like most of you all out there, I have to work FT while I’m completing my journey, and pursuing this dream. And, I live in Colorado. To my knowledge, Colorado has no Post-Bac pre-med program, at least not that I could find. And certainly not at night, when I am going to school. The requirement that I take night courses left me with basically one choice of where to go back to school: my local community college. Classes just started. Now, I’ve just read some posts on other pre-med sites and pre-med prep books, which generally state - or at least strongly suggest - that medical schools these days view community college work as totally inferior, and such course work is given little, if any weight in the application process. Basically, I’ve read that C.C. work is seen as little more than glorified high-school academics. Does anyone have any advice for me? Is this generally true? Am I dooming myself from the start just based on where I had to take coursework? I would really like to hear from some people on this, as this whole problem has got me really concerned right now. Thanks.

MCF.