RN Intro...hello to all!!!! :)

Hello all!

I thought it proper to introduce myself after a few months of researching the valuable advice from the forums. My name is Heather- 26yo mom of 2 in elem school. I am currently an RN student set to graduate in Dec 2007. I also have my Associates Degree. I recently viewed an organ procurement which Reignited my passion to undertake this premed journey. I appreciate this site and all the valuable information within!!! It is a Godsend to all the premed students like me who dont quite “fit” the mold.

From what I gathered it is best to major in an area of interest (mine psychology) and take the necessary prereqs. My GPA is 2.9. I have had the intro to chem and bio classes. I know i have a lot of work ahead!!!

I would enjoy hearing from any other RNs or others in the medical field who have taken this premed plunge and any words of wisdom they might have in surviving…or getting in to a med school! I thought about working at a university hospital possibly?

It is an honor to meet you all!!! Best of Luck!!!

Hello and welcome!

I’m a MS III and an RN, you can do it, there is a long road ahead, you are very young still do not let anyone tell you otherwise,

My advice is to graduate pass the boards and work as an RN for a while, go back to school, many nursing jobs pay for college, do not tell others you are premed ( this will cause you trouble), just work towards the BS, be a grade hog! get the A’s

Welcome to the marathon!

I appreciate it!! Congrats to you for your success

Did you find that your work in trauma prepared you for med school?

I am struggling with what area of nursing to go into that would provide the best knowledge base…what would you recommend now in retrospect?