Rn to PA to Md (is there any truth to this?)

Hello all, it’s been a while…. I am currently working as a Nurse Technician at a local hospital. My boss approached me the other day and told me of an RN to PA program that will take 11 months and then a PA to MD program that will take about 3 years. Is there any truth to this? I am only wondering because, YES, I do want something to fall back on. With all the Med school applicants each year growing, there is a possibility that I will not be accepted (might as well face that). I want to have a career, NOT a degree.
I have chosen medicine because, for years I was a telecom engineer and dealing with computers everyday (same thing every day), I was bored and wanted a challenge.
I have aspirations of being a doctor of sports nutrition, something I cannot do as a nurse, though, I have to think realistically… I am NOT a mathematical person, working in engineering for so long you think I would be (computers do it all). I have gotten my first C (in statistics) and I am actually a little worried when I think of how heavily math is weighed in your GPA for med school. I know that I have the personality and the sheer love of medicine to make a good doctor, I just feel a little insecure in my math skills to be 100% sure of myself.
Anyway…. Hearing this from my boss really gave me a better feeling; I would be able to have a fall back career just in case and wouldn’t be stuck holding a degree in Bio, Chem, etc. with NOTHING to do with it (That interests me). Has anyone else heard of this pathway to MD? If so, please let me know.
I still plan on putting every ounce of my soul into being a well rounded student, but I still have a long way to go. I still have to get through general Chem I and II, Orgo Chem I & II, as well as physics I & II, and Calculus…. I have to admit, it scares me a bit to even look down the barrel of those classes, but I will continue, in stride, to complete my objective of MD…