Royal screwup!

Hi guys!

I am new to this site and grateful to have found it. I am in a dilemma about how the med schools calculate your gpa. I have a bachelors and masters in nursing with gpas of 4.0 and 3.9 respectively. As part of the requirements for entrance into med school I have already taken stats (grade B), microbiology (grade A), Gen Bio (grade A), A&P I,II (grade B each). I still have to take physics, org chem and inorg chem. My problem/question is #1- Do they average the prequisite class grades seperately or with the cumulative gpa of my bachelors degree and/or masters degree? and then #2- I took org chem in 2007 not realizing I should have taken a refresher chem class first and waited too late to drop/withdraw, never finished the class and was given a grade of gulp F. Of course I am retaking the org chem class but am concerned that the F will be averaged in. I plan on applying to a DO program and a couple MD programs. Would someone kindly help me fiqure this out. Thanks in advance!

Hi!! Welcome to the forum!! I am unable to answer your question, because I am in the same situation as you!! LOL…However, I wanted to know why are you changing from nursing to M.D.? I am currently a SLP and inspiring to become an M.D.( I desire to have more nursing/medical contact with my patients instead of rehabilitation). I quickly thought about becoming a R.N. so that it would take me out of the SLP field ASAP!!) What are your thoughts since you are already an R.N.? Do you continuously strive for more knowledge outside of the nursing spectrum? Thanks for any input!!! Oh…others can join in as well!!

Hi and thanks for the welcome!