schools for a really older student

I am an older, older pre-med. At the age of 50, I decided to pursue this old dream of mine. I am an accomplished psychiatric social worker, who runs her own department and has the highest credential in New York State. I have been in practice for over 16 years and been in Human Services over 28 years. I am a member of the National Health Service Corps. My missing pre-req’s were Physics, and Chem. I recently began taking them at a local University. I have a graduate degree with a 3.86 GPA from Syracuse University. I am looking for advice as to which schools would strongly value a savvy, smart, experienced middle aged woman who is seeking an MD in psychiatry. A school’s reputation is not as important to me as being highly valued as a non-traditional student. Any suggestions???

Check out Kate’s Diary. She is in her 50’s and is just completing her 2nd year at WVCOM (DO med school).

I’m 46 and am just completing my 1st year at KCUMB (DO med school).

Perhaps there is a trend?

Good luck.

Lynda

I’m inspired by this conversation. I’m 44 and hoping to spend the next 4-6 years doing prereqs which puts me in the late 40s/early 50s before I can even think of enrolling. To both of you, I’d love to hear more about your journeys. Thanks for letting me know that I’m not alone in my interest to pursue this path at a later age. I’m glad to hear that KCUMB is non-trad-friendly. I’ve heard wonderful things about both the school and Kansas City.