Schools that are looking for older students

I am a 29 year old witha BS in Zoology and a minor in Anthropolgy. I graduated with very medicore grades back in 98. I cuurently am working a full time job, volunteering at three places, and going to school (7 hours a semster). My pre medical review advisor suggested I retake some classes to show that I can do the work- I have an A average for the last year. I am taking the MCATS in August 2004. I am trying to decide which schools to apply to and am wondering if anyone has heard about schools that put emphasis on older students? Or students who have not done well when they were younger, but are doing well now that they are older?
Any advice on this or suggestions on how to narrow down the schools I am applying to would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Marcia

Hi and welcome to OPM.
Since you haven’t taken the MCAT it is harder to tell you what schools you should apply to. I have found the DO schools to be more open to older students, but that is just my experience.
I would suggest looking at the med school web sites under student stats and seeing what the average age is.
For MD schools - http://www.aamc.org/members/listings/msalphaae.htm
For DO schools - http://www.aacom.org/colleges/
It is great that you are retaking the classes and earning A’s. That will help show adcoms you have improved since the last time you took them. Take some upper level science courses as well such as Physiology which can help you on the MCAT, genetics, micro just to name a few.
Good luck