Screwed up...

Well, I worked myself into a corner this semester and screwed things up. Working full-time with a family and taking 12 credits (biology II, chem II and calculus) didn’t pan out.

While it looks like I’m a shoe-in for an A in biology and am hovering at an A-/B+ in chemistry, I have the good chance of drawing an F in calc.

Why? It’s an online class so it’s been self taught. With no deadline for the material, I kept putting off the course work…thinking I’ll catch up. Exhibiting some lousy judgment, I still thought I could pull it off once the withdrawal deadline had passed.

At the urging of my pre-med advisor, I contacted the math prof for a last-minute request for an Incomplete. The prof rejected it.

I now have to pull off a semester’s worth of learning by this Saturday to get a shot at getting anywhere from an F to a C. Sixty percent of the grade is based on online homework and quizzes; 40% on the final.

It’ll be a miracle if I pull it off, but I have to try and hope the math gods bestow enough intelligence in me get me through to a C…which at another point I presume I can re-take the class explaining why I got a C.

All this under the presumption that I shouldn’t stop now, take the F, and save myself a ton of grief because I still may earn an F anyway.

Obviously, the damage is done. I now have to think how to best explain this to the adcomm committee and what would better advance my cause: I wasn’t able to finish more than a quarter of the work but still got good grades in my other subjects; or I finished most of the work in a week and still flunked or eeked out C (very ambitious)?

Thoughts?

Naturally, I’m restricting myself to two classes per semester from here on out.