seeking med school advice

New member here seeking advice on my current situatioin.

I am a 29 y/o physical therapist with over 120k in student loan debt from my PT education. I have been practicing for 2 years and developed a desire to pursue medicine during my PT program 2-3 years back. I decided I wanted to improve my knowledge and become a diagnostician and lead my patients care vs. providing therapy services.

I have gone back and forth on starting up the preparation for applying to med school 1-2 times over this period and I am currently at a crossroad. I am married with no kids and my wife has a great career with a good salary, and has voiced her opinion on prefering for me to not apply to med school. Her reasons include to avoid living like a student into most of our thirties, its affect on having children, and to avoid the negative impact on her career with her potential opportunities.

I have exhaustively researched both med and PA school, and am leaning toward PA school (with my wife’s support), but I really feel like MD/DO is really what I would like to pursue. My main concern is that if I become a PA I will possibly have regrets of not going the physician route, even with all of the negatives that physicians have to deal with in our healthcare system. I have decided that this is the final time that I will seriously consider med school or PA school and will stick with whichever route I will soon choose.

If anyone here could provide any advice from your experiences it would be appreciated.

Warren

Well…you know my take.

Hi Warren, and welcome!