Senior Software Engineer/Architect Looking To Go To Medical School

Hello, I am a 37 year old Senior Software Engineer/Architect with over 15 years experience in the Software Development IT field, and I am now looking to go to medical school, I am shooting for Fall 2010 for acceptance so you can say I am at the beginning of this journey, but like everything else in my life I have no plans on giving up and will enjoy the challenges. I have no medical experience in my background or patient interaction what so ever, I have no volunteer work, either paid or unpaid, medically related or not; but my goal is clear, my determination is there and my motivation has never been higher, any advice you can give me I am will to hear. I have come to this site to surround myself with likeminded people that I can learn from and help when possible.

I am a true geek, for example I don’t plan to take the MCAT until April 2009 but I have already purchased every MP3 based learning system known to man (Gold Standard, RapidLearning, and Osmosis to name a few). I have two 500 GB Hard drives field with Medical Related Podcast, MP3, and Videos. I carry a 160 GB Classic IPod filled to the max with the latest podcast, audio lectures, and videos that I can find on the web. I read 90% of mu course books online using a screen reader called ReadPlease which allows me to read books at three times the normal reading speed. But that is just to give you a glue of my personality.

Currently I am studying for my Respiratory Therapist Degree and plan to take my CRT and RRT the first of 2009, why you may ask; well it complicated but it fits into my plans and will help me achieve my goals in the long run. I live in Upper Marlboro Maryland, but spend 90% of my time on the computer.