Setting an attainable goal

Hi everybody!

Several months back I posted my introduction - at the time I was just sort of feeling out the possibility of going to med school and ultimately becoming a doctor. After a lot of consideration, I decided to go for it. I’ve spent the last month or so fully immersed in an introductory biology class. Good stuff. I appreciate everyone’s thoughts, by the way…I was really relieved to find such a great community of people in similar situations to mine

So I’m looking to set a goal for myself, but I’m not sure it’s realistic.

I haven’t always been a great student - I graduated in 2003 with an English degree with a 3.2 GPA. I came back in 2005 to get a second bachelors (in Psychology this time) and my GPA has been 4.0 ever since. These weren’t cupcake classes, either. Physiology, statistics, experimental psych, etc…I feel like I should point that out because a lot of people think Psych is easy…sometimes it’s not!

Anyway, I live in Michigan and I’ve always wanted to go to the University of Michigan. I got waitlisted for undergrad so many years ago (due to mailing my application much later than I should have! ) and ended up going to Eastern (which has worked out very well for me!), but I would like to go to U-M for med school.

I know that the best way to give myself a shot is to excel in my science pre reqs (so far so good) and to ace the MCAT, but my cGPA is probably only going to get to around 3.5. Is it acceptable to talk to the admissions department for a medical school to ask if you have any chance of being a competitive applicant? I’d be pretty bummed if I did well in my science classes and on the MCAT, only to find out I never really had a chance to begin with. I also realize it’s probably not the best idea to get my heart set on one particular school, but I figure having a goal can’t hurt