Shadowing and Volunteering

Hi I am considering to shadow a mutiple D.O.s before I apply to med school next year but when should I start shadowing ? If I shadow a doc right now and ask for recommendation a year later, how is she/he going to remember me? Is it better to shadow a doc just a couple of months before I submit my application? Also are shadowing and volunteering the same thing?

Instead of shadowing a doctor, because the new HIPPA rules might give you an issue, try asking your local EMS squad to be an observer for a day. I am a 12 year veteran, who decided recently to go to medical school, and I remember last year we had an observer. On the very first call of the night (his last call ever) we had a massive trauma. A guy was trying, very stupidly, to cut down a very tall tree in his yard at about 9:30 at night. The tree wound up going into his leg and ripping it off.
Anyway, this is just one call. You will have more exposure to many different medical problems riding an ambulance than you would by shadowing a doctor. Also, you get to see which specialty you might like.
Once I get into medical school, god willing, I will either specialize in Emergency Medicine or Trauma surgery.
good luck.
Gabe

Now is a good time to start. I shadowed a doc last Fall and at the end of my time there, I asked him if he would be willing to give me a LOR. He agreed and told him to expect to hear from me in the early Spring. It went very smoothly.
It’s not too soon to start lining those LOR’s up! wink.gif

This is kinda disorganized, my apologies - I had lots of thoughts on this question!
Also, please see an old thread that addresses in much more detail the question of how to handling LORs:
application year time-line