Shadowing Etiquette?

Hi All,

I’m pretty new to the premed game, as I’ve recently decided to jump in and follow the path to medicine whole heartedly. I just landed a shadowing gig with an orthopedic surgeon (so exciting to me!!!), and I could use some pointers on shadowing etiquette because I’ve never shadowed before. I’ve been called “home trained” and complimented on my manners before, but I just don’t want to go in blind. What are do’s? What are don’ts (aside from obvious things), what do I wear? Should I buy a lab coat? If I like it, how do go about asking for more shadowing opportunities, etc. Any input would be much appreciated!

I would wear something business casual-ish and then change as required into something they provide. if they want you to wear something specific, they should tell you ahead of time.

Remember that you are there to learn through observation. You aren’t going to learn how to be a doctor or do procedures. More importantly, observe what the doctor does, how s/he interacts with patients and staff, what the lifestyle is like, what the workload seems to be, etc. Seeing procedures is the cool part. Your biggest goal should be to use the experience to help you decide if this path is what you actually want to do, or if it too far outside of your interests and expectations to pursue.

Everything else you do will be at the mercy of the doc and staff. Ask questions as the situation allows and react to situations based on your comfort level. Be a metaphorical sponge that only absorbs, and try not to be disappointed if you don’t get to do much outside of watching.

At the end, if you have a good relationship, ask for future opportunities to shadow either the same doc or others that s/he can recommend.

Have fun!