Should I be concerned?

I am 39 years old pursuing my dream of becoming a practicing physician. I am completing my prereq now and doing great 3.8 GPA right now in my science class. My undergrad is 3.45 GPA BS in Bus Admin. Im beginning to study for the MCAT. I praying for a great score.

Here is my concern: I volunteer once a week at a clinic for the homeless. However, by the time I apply for med school I will only have about 73 hrs of time in. I have volunteered thru the years in many capacities: mentoring, tutoring, etc. However, I’ve been reading that I should have at least 120 to 150hrs. Is this going to be a problem for me?

I have an offer to shadow a doctor for about a week. I have a lot of experience visiting the doctor with my dad and my husband of for their cancer treatments…would that count as experiencing the atmosphere of what a doctor does?

Please advise.

When it comes to volunteering, I believe the rule of thumb is that quality trumps quantity. Typically what the adcoms look for is volunteering experience that shows a candidates desire to help people’s travails and their philanthropy/benevolence.

Personally I don’t think volunteering is a make or break for an applicant but then I may be wrong!

I typically suggest to pre-meds that they think in terms of about four hr/wk in a medical environment, on an ongoing, consistent basis. Ditto with volunteering into an underserved population. BTW, shadowing physicians is generally viewed as an adjunct to volunteering in a clinical environment, not a substitute for.

Cheers,

Judy

And, although experience regarding your family members will give you some “insight” I would not use this as “part of” your shadowing experience.