Should i complete my prerequisites in a Community College or a Post Bacc Program

I am a non-traditional pre-med student. I have B.S. and M.S degrees in engineering and have worked for 10 years. I am now going back to school to complete my science prerequisites before aplying to Medical school.
The big decision i need to make now is whether to take my prerequisites in a Community College or a formal Post Bacc program. The cost of the Post Bacc Program is more than 3 times higher than that of a Community College so i am questioning the need to spend this much extra money on the same classes i could take in a Community College.
I am the kind of student that is self motivated and does not need too much extra motivation or guidance but in this case given that i am completely new to the med school admission process i wonder if a Post Bacc program would be beneficial and worth the extra cost.
Would appreciate your thoughts / opinion on this, and your advice.
Thank you in advance
Eva

1 Like

Hey Eva,

Based on what you’ve posted here, my opinion is that a DIY post-bacc would be fine for you. I mostly say this because of your statement about being a self-motivated person. The advantages of a formal post-bacc are the structure and built in “counseling” services. However, if you feel that you have the motivation to create your own structure and find/enroll in the classes that you need for med school then the added benefits of a formal program diminish greatly. For more detailed information I’d recommend checking out some of Dr. Gray’s podcasts as he often talks about deciding between a formal post-bacc and DIY post-bacc. One of the more recent episodes is Ask Dr. Gray: Premed Q&A Episode 122 (iHeart radio link).

1 Like