Should I focus on Volunteering or Shadowing?

Hi, so this is my first post here and I’ve been reading a lot of great stuff on here from all of you guys! I wanted to share my story so far and ask for some advice as to what I should do.

I didn’t decide to go premed track until last week. I joined the Army after high school and trained as an X-ray tech for a year. During the last 6 months of that training I did clinicals where I worked as an X-ray tech in a hospital for 40 hours a week (800-1000hrs total), along with some OR,IR,Ortho,CT rotations. It was a great experience and I loved it! Unfortunately the Army has stopped providing civilian certifications for it and so I couldn’t work as an X-ray tech until I got licensed civilian side, so after my Army training i decided to go to community college and then transfer to a 4 year.

Fast forward to now. I am a junior in University, I am studying for MCAT, I am studying for civilian side X-ray tech cert, going to class, do Army Reserves, go to gym, and tutor classes.

My concern is that I’m pretty sure my clinical experience is too old (if I submit in June it will be almost 4 years old) and that I’ve done very little patient practice since then. Being a medical reservist I fairly often do training involving patient simulations for different scenarios. But its only once a month and only a simulation. I’m also concerned that if I do find a volunteer position at a hospital I would not be getting much patient interaction and it wouldn’t even count as clinical work. I also have almost no shadowing experience, but I think I will secure one in the next 2 weeks with a contact, and hopefully be able to do something like 5 hrs a month.