Should I list volunteer work that can't be quantified?

As an old “old premed” (42yrs) I feel as though my volunteer work could be perceived almost as contrived. Med schools like to see meaningful volunteer work to show that you are indeed a caring person. I have only recently begun medically relevant volunteer work. My fear is that the question may arise; “Why are you only now beginning volunteer work?” The implication being that if I was volunteering for the "right reasons " then I should have a volunteer history pages long. The fact of the matter is that I do, but I have nothing ,until recently, that is quantifiable. For example, I am currently an auto mechanic at a dealership. Many of the apprentice technicians are working towards an associates degree in automotive technology. I have been privately tutoring several of these students for years. One student did so well he switched out of automotive and into an engineering program. He is now applying to masters programs. Another switched to a psychology program and he is one year away from his BS in psychology. Most recently I have been tutoring the receptionist in A&P in preparation for an exercise science degree. I worked with these people because I enjoy helping people when I can. This is all very informal. It is just one example of something I do that I fell like I can’t necessarily put on a med school app. Is this a valid concern? Do I need to prove a long history of altruistic behavior? If so, how?

Thanks, Matt

You can definitely put down the tutoring. No one is going to go back and audit your hours. Volunteering is volunteering, it doesn’t necessarily have to be for some formal program or organization. That would show that a) you are willing to give your time to help others (assuming you weren’t paid), b) you enjoy teaching, which has a large informal component in medicine, and c) you seem genuinely invested in the people that you’ve helped.