Should I reapply? What went wrong?

Hi all,

Briefly, I am 45 years old, PhD in math, MA in physics. I took pre-med courses on my own (no post-bac program as I thought I could do it faster myself), got straight As, and a 37 MCAT. I have some limited clinical experience shadowing ER docs, and I applied last cycle to medical school. My goal is to be an ER doc.

I thought that with my qualifications I’d have success in getting into a few schools. At this point, out of 19 schools that I applied to, I interviewed at 4, was rejected at one, and am on the waitlist at the other three. I’m facing the very real possibility that I don’t get in this cycle and have started to think about whether or not I should reapply.

I’m a little discouraged at this point. I’ve spent two years on this journey, and have very little idea as to why I’ve had so little success with the application process. Perhaps my expectations were too high - I thought I’d get more interviews at the least. The interviews I had went really well…to be waitlisted is really frustrating. And if my age was the problem, well, I’m not getting younger as it turns out.

If anyone has any advice, or would be willing to discuss this process with me, I’d really appreciate it. I’ve found it to be impossible to consider a Plan B (i.e. not med school) because I know this is what I want to do. But the thought of another year of silence from med schools… I’d like to know that things have a chance at being different the next time around.

Thanks!

Rob

Yeah 4 interviews is not a bad yield.

Based on your brief description, it sounds like your clinical experience and/or volunteering was lacking. How were your LORs?

While 3 waitlists is not ideal, you have a decent chance. I’d check to see how those 3 schools view update letters and other methods of expressing continued interest. When it comes down the big May shuffle, it’d be a good thing on the top of the pile that they pull applicants from.