showing your service oriented side when you aren't

I decided not to hijack the other volunteer thread, but now there are two volunteering-oriented threads going. Sorry. . .

My question is how one should explain a lack of community service as a nontrad. It’s one thing for a 22 year old to volunteer for one year before med school, but how do I explain the past 13 yrs of being a slug?

I volunteered all through high school, although it was random 5 hrs for these guys, 10 hrs for those. I was in NHS, and it was set up so that you volunteered that way for multiple organizations instead of one consistently.

In college, I was a bratty freshman and raising a kid the other 3 years. There was literally no time.

After college, I did Christmas in October for Habitat for Humanity twice. This is where crews of people go into underserved neighborhoods and work on their homes one Saturday in October. I was a house captain one year, which required ~ 50 hrs work total.

Then I had another kid and changed jobs so I wasn’t involved even involved in that project. I did nothing. I have done some baseball fundraisers and stuff for my own kid, but you can’t count that. I donate money to the United Way every year and I donate stuff to charity, but I haven’t been the type to jump in and help. Obviously there are people who make it a priority no matter how busy they are, but that wasn’t me.

Doesn’t that make me look pretty bad now that I am volunteering 4 hr/wk, and it’s hospital volunteering that doesn’t really help anyone except me?