Single mom, 40, going to med school after son goes to college

HI All

I am very happy to be here!

Recently decided to make the plunge and really make going to medical school a reality.

A little bit of background about me: I am divorced single mom, 40, my son is a Jr in HS and will be graduating and going to college next year. I have a solid science background - BS in Bio and two MS - one in Biomedical Engineering and another one which was given as a terminal MS when I dropped out of grad school (PhD) three years ago. This last one was in Physiology/Biophysics but my research was in brain cancer. I am currently a validation engineer for a medical device company. Although I have solid lab research experience, I lack clinical experience and currently trying to find a shadowing opportunity and also prepare for the MCAT. It’s been a while since I’ve touched Orgo and will have to brush up on other topics as well.

I do not have any of the sociology/psychology curricula that I guess now it is required in the MCAT.

It may sound like I got most of the basics covered, but from the stories I see here just a solid science background is not enough.

I would like to get feedback on thoughts as to what gaps I may be having in my background and as an non-traditional applicant -

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

thanks! :smiley:

It sounds like you know what you need to do to best position yourself. You may consider taking the undergrad classes for soc/psych depending on the schools you want to apply to (not all actually require you take the courses). I would bet you already know most of the soc/psych stuff from the bigger perspective just from living life and would just have to learn the lingo and the nuances of the different theories.