So many maths..

So I’m running into a dilemma. Like many of you I’ve been out of school for a while. Though I was a math honor student while in high school I’m completely oblivious to it now. I looked at a simple algebra equation yesterday and couldn’t figure it out for the life of me without reviewing some basic rules.

What sucks is that this semester all I can really do is take algebra at this community college. I don’t want to take chemistry or physics without brushing up on my math. I want to take my sciences at a univesity. The nearest ones are: Clemson (calculus based sciences), USC (Algebra based sciences), Ga Tech (calculus based) or Ga State (Algebra based).

Strangely even though Ga State is algebra based they recommend you take pre-cal before you take chemistry, and chemistry is a pre-requisite to biology. Basically I don’t want to use up 2 semesters only being able to take one math class each (I can’t take pre-cal and algebra at the same time).

What did you guys do about the math thing. Did you take your algebra/calculus at the same time with chemistry/physics or did you get a strong hold on your math before you tackled them?

One final thing. Since Ga. Tech and Clemson are calculus based I don’t have to take algebra if I go there. I would start out at pre-cal, but I still think it’s beneficial to get my grasp of algebra again before I try the higher tiered schools.

You should definitely get your algebra skills honed up before chemistry. Strong algebra skills are essential to doing well in gen chem. I’m not sure why they would require pre-calc for chemistry, though.

Absolutely don’t skimp on the math. It will make your life much easier in the pre-reqs if you can focus on understanding the concepts of the subject and not have to spend a ton of time understanding the math. Probably the single biggest reason people do poorly in the sciences (outside of lack of effort) is a poor foundation in the math skills required to solve the problems.