Some questions

Okay so I have a weird history which brought me to becoming a pre-med and this may be slightly long winded so if you make it to the end thanks. To start though I am going to go back to 2008 when I graduated high school earlier that year I got my acceptance letter to University of Pittsburgh for a Psychology/pre-med path all excited to start my path to becoming a pediatric psychologist. Then my girlfriend now wife got diagnosed with pretty progressed melanoma and Ithe bills started to add up fast. Scared as to how we were going to pay for treatment as the bills after only a year was teetering around 130k and we were newly wedding I did the only thing I could do I stopped going to school and joined the Navy to get her great healthcare. Fast forward a few years and now my wife is in remission and I am going to separate soon from the service and hoping to apply to medical school. Now my passion is pediatric oncology (for obvious reasons) but I am wondering is it appropriate, to tell the truth, if medical admissions boards ask why it took me so long to apply to medical school. Or should I come up with something else to say when asked that question so I don’t go on this topic?

Sean

Why would you not tell them the truth about this one? It’s a pretty powerful experience that a) delayed you from going into medicine and b) is driving you into a career path goal. Keep in mind that you may want to be something now, and that opinion may change once you see what that field is all about from the provider end. You may want to think up other reasons to discuss for joining the navy aside from healthcare benefits alone, if there are any.

I don’t want to come across like I am looking for pitty points or being unprofessional by talking about someone else’s medical. Also not sure if they would look poorly on someone because they have baggage.