Stacked Up Against Me?

Hello All, this is my first time posting and I should have done it ages ago. I am currently applying to medical school for the 2009 cycle. Here is a brief history before my questions:

40 y/o, F, married, no kids

MCAT: August 2008=27L (9,9,9)

BCMP GPA: 3.66

Total GPA: 3.15*

Education:

1986-1988:NYU, studied French

1988-1990: University of the Arts, studied Industrial Design

1992-2005: University of Maryland, College Park, BS in Cell, Molecular Biology and Genetics

Work:

1997-2001: Georgetown University Medical Center, worked as ED tech and medical assistant.

2001-present: work for my family’s business (not medically related)

Volunteer/EC:

EMT-Paramedic, 14 year life member of local rescue squad.

*I attended college for 4 1/2 years prior to discovering medicine and accrued 91 credits of low GPA. I enrolled at Univ. of MD full time (worked part time) , did very well (major’s honors program,Howard Hughes Medical Institute Undergraduate Research Fellow, etc.) and then crashed and burned during my sixth semester when I lost my housing, didn’t have any financial aid left and had to drop out of school. It took me another 10 years to complete my degree, taking classes as I could afford them. I accrued another 100 credits at Univ. of MD.

Comments/Questions/Worrie s: