Starting again at 32

I must be insane. I have a church music degree that has a poor GPA. Never took maths or sciences there. Now that’s all I’m taking. I’d like to become a D.O. Honestly that fits more with my philosophy of healthcare than M.D. and it’s reassuring to know they are more forgiving of GPAs. There is the little issue of the kids. They seem to think they need my help for their homework when I am doing my own. Oh well, at least they are cute.

Am I shooting myself in the foot by not being involved in volunteer work? I do volunteer as a breastfeeding councelor at two separate websites, but I’m not thinking that counts much. I also work with local mothers occasionally, but not often.

I know with finances being as they are my husband wishes I’d get a part time job, and work plus school and kids, I’m a bit scared my grades will suffer if I add any more to my plate. As it stands college algebra has kicked my a$$ on more than one occasion. I don’t want any repeats of that.

Well, that’s a few questions to get me started as an introduction. Hopefully, I get to hang around here a bit and get to know more people who are doing the same thing I am.

Of course you are insane. I don’t think sane people do this. You have to be a bit of a wacko to take this on. but of a little such insanity greath things come.

As to the volunteer bit… I would encourage you to try to find some in a direct patient care setting. I think it will help your resume a lot, but that is not the important thing. Before you commit yourself to the business of human care in the medical setting, you need to have a feeling for what that world is about. Are you bothered by the sight and smell of assorted body fluids?

Are you ready to get your hands on other human bodies of all shapes and sizes? Are you comfortable when confronted by pain?

you need to have some sense of this before you dive straight into the deep end to sink or swim. Volunteering is a way to find out.

Thanks for your response.