Starting completely over....New direction...

Hello,

I am 33 and from Montreal, Canada. I graduated with a Political Science degree 13 years ago. During the past years, I took a few University classes in different subjects while working different jobs that gave me no personal satisfaction. I succeeded in some classes and failed miserably in others (due to personal problems) which brought down my GPA even further. This past year, I have been seriously reflecting about re-focusing my direction in life. I am realizing that deep down inside I’ve always wanted to become a doctor but never had the courage to go for it. I always felt inadequate because I was never the best student in HS/University. Instead, I was just getting by with average/passing marks due to a lack of direction/ motivation when I was younger. But after reading about non-traditional students, maybe there is still hope. I do not have any pre-requisites for med school and I am thinking of attending community college (CEGEP level) to take the pre-requisites. This time around, I am willing to work very hard and will hire tutors if I have to. My question are: Can I start with a clean slate? Will med schools disregard my weak GPA from years ago? Instead, If I do well, will they only look at my GPA in Science and my MCAT score? Also, given my past weak GPA/spotted education, which schools should I consider applying to in order to further my chances of getting into Med? (Always keeping in mind that I must have a high MCAT and GPA in Science). Caribbean? Europe? Canada? US?

I will be calling an academic advisor tomorrow at the local community college/Cegep for more information.

Any advice from this community would be great.

Cheers,

Nervous “TD”

Hi and Welcome from a fellow Canadian (ONT)!