Starting the journey from RN to MD

Hey there!

So, I’m a little lost to say the least.

A little bit of background…ER is all I’ve ever known as a workplace setting in my adult life. I worked as an ER tech in a busy hospital throughout nursing school, and then continued as an ER nurse at a teaching hospital. I’ve been experiencing some general dissatisfaction with my job. Originally I thought I just needed a change of scenery, so I’m currently working as a travel nurse. However, after some serious introspection I believe that I need to pull a career change and go into medicine. Not to be cocky, but I’m good at my job and can appreciate how important a good nurse is to any team, but I think my desire for more detailed knowledge coincides more with medicine. I’ve been encouraged by the EM residents I’ve spoken with to look further into it…

That being said, I know CRNA is also an option. My concern there is the market being flooded with CRNAs now that they’re becoming a bit more popular.

Now for the questions!

I’m 26 years old, so I don’t really have a lot of time to waste. My BSN GPA isn’t stellar by any means (worked two jobs to put myself through nursing school), but I’m hoping to improve that with postbacc classes. Is there any advantage in taking a formal postbacc program versus a DIY format? Are there good resources to know if you’re headed in the right direction if you take an unstructured approach? WhIch MCAT program works best for studying? I likely won’t take it until after I’ve completed some more of the prereqs, but I’m not sure where to even start with prereqs themselves. Luckily I have a job where I can move anywhere, and I can always return to ER or ICU in Phoenix.

A lot of the prereqs I need to complete as a premed will work for CRNA programs, but I’m just not sure how happy I would be as a CRNA either. Definitely do not want to be an NP. The financial undertaking for both is a little nerve wracking too.