Still Another Newbie

After a long time in the shadows, I have decided to step into the light.

I am a 38 year old architect with over a decade of unsatisfying work under my belt and began to become interested in a career change to medicine about 3 years ago. Since those first tentative steps I have: completed all prerequisites, volunteered for 6 months at a local hospital, was accepted into a summer research fellowship at a local medical school, and…almost applied this cycle. I started my application (and got darn close to completing it), but decided to not to take the MCAT less than a week before my scheduled date. I panicked when thinking about the commitment and “convinced” myself that I would just carry-on in my current profession, unfulfilled, and find another outlet for finding meaning in my life. After getting a position in an office again, I know that is not going to be possible.

There are many inspirational stories on this site that I hope will continue to energize me as I prepare for the next cycle. Perhaps I can add something in the process too!

Mec,

From the sound of your letter, I think you are aching for a career in medicine, in spite of your efforts to just “carry on” in the safe career. I have been there. You have done some amazing things to prepare for medical school. Just don’t let up. You can’t afford to waste a year. Yes, you may be waiting for another cycle to apply, but be sure to keep making great efforts to show your commitment by continuing to find ways to prepare yourself better for your calling in life (medicine). FWIW, I probably could have made the same money in my lifetime by staying in the “safe” career, but I have not regretted my decision to go to medical school. I’m in my 3rd year, and even though I have had to work harder than I thought, it is 100% worth it!

Good Luck!

Jean

mec2012,