Student-run Note taking Service

Hi folks,
When I was a freshman medical student, I established the first successful student-run notetaking service at Howard. I am going to post some of my successes and some of my failures.
First: Find out how many hours of lecture need to be covered by note service. You then need to assign no more than one hour per note taker.
Ideal note takers should be medical students and not transcriptionists. You don’t want a transcript, you want organized notes that are useful for study. Don’t make the mistake of trying to hire pre-medical students to take notes. If you are not a medical student, you don’t know where the emphasis should be.
Second: Pay your note takers well. They should be paid per hour of class time. This rate should be high enough to make this worth their time. Each note taker should be given an audio tape of the class that they are transcribing.
Third: All notes should be typed and submitted to you in paper and digital form. You should be able to publish your notes on a website so that students may be able to download them. You have to have individual passwords for this.
Fourth: The whole class should subscribe to the service. You will not have enough money to cover expenses if several people try to “share” one subscription. This is a very unprofessional thing to do. If someone is unable to afford a subscription, allow them to assist you with clerical duties or serve as a back-up note taker.
Fifth: Suspend note service the week before exams. It is too much to ask of most students to take notes during this week. People will have to be on their own.
If your school provides great syllabi and notes from the professors, you don’t need a note service. Most schools still will try to have some student-run service for either old tests or note-service.