Study for MCAT or ROSS Univ

Hello all,

I am a 35 year old PharmD determined to go back to med school. I have strong grades (3.7 GPA). I have been accepted to Ross Univ without MCAT since I have a doctorate degree. I need some advice - Should I go ahead with Ross or delay it by a year, take the MCAT and apply to US schools? I am hesitant with the MCAT because I don’t remember the basic sciences. Hence, not sure if I will do well on MCAT plus I am not really guaranteed acceptance even if I study and take the MCAT.

Thank you so much… look forward to your advice and thoughts.

Although Ross is one of the “good” Caribbean schools, it’s still going to mean a tougher slog for you as you work your way through med school, and a higher bar when it comes to seeking out a residency position. So trading a relatively short “no MCAT” can have long term consequences for your future career.

But avoiding the MCAT because you had your basic sciences a long time ago means that you may be in for a big challenge regardless of where you go to school. The basic sciences in med school are going to hit you hard and fast and you may struggle… which has the potential to be a setback as well.

My prejudice is toward taking the slow, plodding approach that involves dotting all your i’s, crossing all your t’s, taking the MCAT and making your application a good one. The Ross shortcut, while attractive and potentially good for you, has some pretty significant land mines in it.

Just my $0.02. No one can tell you what to do.

Mary

One more thought: the folks who are going to be successful at applying this year have already taken the MCAT (or scheduled it for the near future), have lined up their letters of recommendation, have filed their AMCAS and/or AACOMAS applications or will be very soon, and are poised to start completing secondaries when they get them starting in July.